Hello world!

I am a confirmed technophobe. Some, including me, might go as far as to call me a Luddite.  Don’t get me wrong. I think lots of technology is way cool, but much of it seems over my head, and some of it, frankly, seems complicated just because it can be. But as I said to my husband this morning, “If you can’t beat’em, then join’em.” I hope as is true in most of the rest of my life, by attempting to create with technology, I’ll grow to understand more of it.  And if not,  at least I’ll learn more about my own learning, a topic that as an English teacher and professional development provider is near and dear to my heart.

The name of the blog is taken from an article I wrote a few years ago for  Voices from the Middle, a journal for middle school English teachers, published by the National Council of Teachers of English. In it I quote Mary Vorse, who said, ” The art of writing is the art of applying the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair.”

 

A member of my writing group and no slouch of a writer herself, Sue Michel, created this card to congratulate me on publishing this article.

A member of my writing group and no slouch of a writer herself, Sue Michel, created this card to congratulate me on publishing this article.

 

 

So here’s the other reason for the blog. As a Fellow of the National Writing Project, I know that the best teachers of writing as those who write themselves. I do send some pieces out into the stratosphere occasionally, but this might keep me a bit more honest. Let’s see.

Published in: on February 4, 2009 at 1:21 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://jmjd.wordpress.com/2009/02/04/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Judy, good for you! I’m glad to see you experimenting with blogging. You even figured out how to add a picture. That’s tricky stuff. Two suggestions: You can delete Mr. WordPress’s comment using your Comments section of your dashboard. Also, see if you can add an RSS widget. I don’t have the precise directions in front of me, so if you run into trouble, let me know, and I’ll look into it for you. If you add the RSS button, I can subscribe to your blog and get automatic updates telling me when you’ve added a new post. That way I can remember to check back and comment some more! I added my students’ current blog project to this reply so you can see what my students are doing with WordPress.

  2. Hey there…way to jump in the deep end. The diving board is only scary the first time you dive off of it. Then, you are addicted. Thanks for posting my website.


Leave a Reply

