The Word on Our Words

Here’s an update I wrote for my students about their progress in #SOL14. I hope you find it useful in some way.

We’re more than halfway through the challenge, so here’s an update on where we stand. There are about a dozen of you who have blogged every day of the month so far. That number is half of what it was last week, so kudos to those of you who are sticking with it. You must really want those Fathead posters of you that I promised. (And I must really learn how make those Fathead PDQ.)

 Twenty-five of you have already met the ten-post minimum, so anything you do is gravy from here on out. The same number of you has left comments for others. The Commenting Challenge had about four of you commenting like crazy on others’ work, but ultimately Lainey with her 138 comments left her competitors in the dust. She chose John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars as her prize. If you’ve read it, you know she chose wisely.

 Eleven of you haven’t posted anything yet. Come on in. The water’s fine. Don’t know what to write about? Many of your classmates have lamented about the snow. I can’t blame them for doing so. When spring finally decides to stick around, I expect we’ll see many posts about how beautiful the weather is. Others have talked about fun things they’ve done with their families, written reviews of books, TV shows, and/or movies, vented about their pet peeves – not to mention Honors Band, and a few are writing stories. There were two different versions of a fish rescue and one post about the world’s messiest sandwich.

When I’m having trouble of thinking of a topic, I’ll read what other bloggers are posting as well as check out Facebook and Twitter for ideas. Some times you’ll get two or three good ideas at the same time. I already know two topics for later in the week. What you don’t need to worry about is being brilliant. When you write on a daily basis in addition to everything else you’re doing, you strive for good. If you have time for great, go for it. But for most of us, good is good enough. (Of course, good still includes spelling correctly, etc. We still need to be able to read it.) And no matter how hard writing might seem, it’s nowhere near as hard as what these guys are trying to do.

challenge

I’m really glad we’ve taken this on together. I hope you are too.

I’m participating in the Slice of Life Challenge. Won’t You Join Me?

 

Published in: on March 17, 2014 at 10:33 pm  Comments (4)  

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. How great that you and your students are blogging together! I think your suggestions and advice are much more credible because you are experiencing the same things your students are experiencing. This post makes me think of Kelly Gallagher and Penny Kittle!

  2. Your suggestions, so carefully intertwined with praise and encouragement, are NOT just for your students! I feel inspired this morning to comment a bit more and share that love, just like Lainey!

  3. As always, I’m impressed with the relationship you’ve built with your students. The Classroom challenge is definitely on my radar. I think if we look hard enough there might be a challenge for every month! Maybe we should create one for Third and Rosedale!

  4. Love this – you encourage, praise, and challenge.


Leave a Reply

