Frostbite

 

 

My fingernails,

temporary thermostats,

while wearing

heat sensitive

nail polish.

Perfectly plum

in the frosty

morning air

gives way to ombre

before long as

dark purple recedes

only to tinge the tips

in warmer hallways.

They’re festooned

in bright scarlet

in the savana of

my classroom.

The air conditioner is

no match for the will

of the heat pump.

 

True spring and a consistent color

has to come soon,

doesn’t it?

 

I’m participating in the Slice of Life Challenge. Won’t you join me?

Published in: on March 26, 2014 at 9:25 am  Comments (3)  

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have never heard of heat sensitive nail polish! Which maybe says something about how often I wear nail polish! It would change a lot in Denver too! Even though I am so, so, so ready for it to be all one color- whatever color it is that matches warm and sunny!

  2. Oooo…. I’m a new nail polish addict and that sounds fascinating! I love how you use the polish color changes to comment on the temperatures, and I love the phrases you use (like “perfectly plum” and “Savanna of my classroom”

  3. How great is that, heat sensitive polish! It reminds me of the old “mood” rings of long ago, supposedly about one’s moods, but I think they were heat sensitive too. I’d love to see those colors change!


Leave a Reply

